My Investment

After working more than 5 years, I am asking myself, what did I have so far? This is one of the biggest question and I try to find the answer by reviewing my journey so far.

If I compared myself with my friends, who also have been working for almost 6 years, they already have a lot of investment like a house, an apartment, mutual fund, deposit, stocks, gold and so on, I felt like I am nothing..

But, I also found that there is some friends who also didn’t have that kind of investment. They said that their expenditure is same and even higher than their income, so they cannot invest until now. It so sad, but it’s true.

I believe, investment is not always about how much property did you have or how much money did you save. And back to the principal that everybody has their own priority and also their own story, so please don’t judge!

For me, I’ve been investing all of my hardworking for my happiness. There are a lot of things which can contributes to my happiness. Here they are :

1st of all is my family. I am the oldest daughter in my family and have 5 siblings. My younger brother is still in 4th grade in elementary school. I’ve sisters who still sits in junior & senior high school and also one more still study in the university. My second sister just graduated and still looking for a job (still need my support sometimes).

Since we are not from a rich family, I try my best to help my parents on their education. So, my 1st investment is on my sister’s education since my first salary until now. I believe by giving & supporting their education, I will became a rich people. Rich is not always about money, right? So, I always thankful and feeling blessed for what I’ve so far.

The 2nd one is travelling. I was born as adventurer person who always enjoy the travelling. But thanks God, I’m quite good on controling my self, I am a realistic, optimistic and sometimes opportunist in a good way.

I remember when I was in Semarang as a collage student, I travelled a lot to a new place with the minimum budget. I went to Jogja, Solo, Bali, Malang & Surabaya. Sometimes, I travelled with my friends by motorcycle (Jogja, Solo, Magelang, Pekalongan, Klaten, Kudus), sometimes by rent a car/bus or trains.

I also have experienced as a tour guide just because I really wanted to visit Bali. I ever worked part time as an interviewer to make money and travelling to another city.

When I worked in Ipsos, I got some opportunity to travel to another city that I never visited before (Makassar & Balikpapan) and even another country (Thailand) for company trip.

Now, I have visited most of Java & Sumatra, and some of the east of Indonesia (Bali, Lombok, Labuan Bajo) and also others country like Kuala Lumpur & Myanmar.

I learn a lot of things in every place that I have visited, every people that I have met, and also from my friends who accompanied me. This kind of experience is also one of the best investment in my life.

Of course I also concern about another investment and set the target to invest in things such property, deposit, mutual fund, gold and so on. I try to manage my income, saving a lil bit after the two priorities that I’ve mentioned above. But again, I try to not comparing my investment with what my friends have. They motivated me of course, but again for me investment is all about understand my financial well, create my own priority and be happy.

So, what about you guys?😉

2 comments

  1. Sangat bersemangat mbak blogny, yang bikn pengen itu waktu kuliah bisa traveling dan part time. Tapi akhir2 in saya minat part time di bagian interviewer dan field data collector market research. Kira2 untuk melamarny lewat mana ya mbk, terimakasih.

Leave a comment